I have been planning and designing some apps…


I have been planning and designing some apps for Google Android for a couple months now. One of them is a full featured client for the freelancer.com api. I finally started coding a few days ago but I have not created a single Android Activity yet. I created a generic method caller that would call a given api.freelaner.com method and populate a model.class I provide with the results. This works well but I figured it would be cleaner to create a bunch of repository/service classes which map to the freelancer api calls. When I am done mapping all the calls I will be able to do the following:

JobService jobs = new JobService(oAuthConsumer);
GetJobListModel model = jobs.GetJobList();

for(Job job: model.items)
{
  System.out.println(job.seo_url);
}

This class library will be independent of the OAuth Library so I would not have to make changes if they changed their OAuth implementation. I am about 30% complete with the mappings. I will be ready to move to Android in a couple weeks when I have written tests for all these methods.

I would also like to do this in c# where I know my design can be a little more elegant but I am not sure I will have time soon.

The purpose of this class library is to facilitate the implementation of the full workflow outlined below:
Freelaner.com api workflow
I intend to implement all the methods listed below:
Method overview

Screenshot of application splash screen

2 thoughts on “I have been planning and designing some apps…

  1. User (complete)
    Job (complete)
    Profile (complete)
    Employer
    Freelancer (complete)
    Common
    Payments
    Notifications (complete)
    Project
    Message (complete)

  2. Sad to say that I am thinking of abandoning this class library project because of issues with the api and it’s accompanying documentation. I will create a post with the details.

Leave a Reply

